NRM Maintains All 6 Incumbent EALA MPs

  • by Rodney Mponye
  • July 12, 2022

The ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM) caucus has resolved to maintain all its six representatives at the East Africa Legislative Assembly (EALA) ahead of elections this August.

“The 4th Central Executive Committee – CEC of the National Resistance Movement – NRM, at its 10th meeting sitting at Entebbe Friday July 8th 2022 hereby recommends that the incumbent EALA be maintained in recognition of their exceptional performance to continue their tenure for another term,” an official letter from the party read.

“CEC therefore endorses incumbent EALA members to the NRM parliamentary caucus as NRM candidates for the position. They are; Mary Mugyenyi, Rose Akol, Stephen George Odongo, Denis Namara, James Kakooza, and Paul Musamali Mwasa,” the letter signed by Richard Todwong the NRM secretary general further read.

CEC received and reviewed up to 130 contestants who had expressed interest to be elected to occupy six of the nine slots for Uganda at the sub-organ of the larger East Africa Community (EAC) bloc but CEC decided to maintain the status quo.

Beneficiary Stephen George Odongo lauded CEC members for entrusting them again with another term of tenure. “We promise that we shall continue delivering and defending the interest of Uganda at the Assembly,” Odongo said.

Elected representatives from now seven member states of Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda, South Sudan, Burundi and new entrant the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) serve a five year-tenure. The current 4th Assembly has 62 members and commenced in 2017 – ending in August 2022.

According to Article 50 of the East African Community treaty, members are elected by their respective country’s national legislature. Article 50 also requires the said members to reflect their country’s political parties, opinions, gender composition, and other special groups.