Minister Rukutana Declared Rushenyi County Winner in NRM Primaries

  • by Rodney Mponye
  • September 15, 2020

Minister Mwesigwa Rukutana fresh from prison has been declared the winner of Rushenyi county NRM Primary elections for the Parliamentary flag bearer in the forthcoming 2021 general elections.

In a two-day election running from Friday 4th September to Saturday 5th, Ms. Kabasharira was declared the winner with 24,006 votes while Mr. Rukutana garnered 23,966 votes leaving a difference of only 40 votes.

However, Mr. Rukutana reportedly rejected the out-come of an election citing that about eight (8) polling stations were not included, maintaining that he had won the election.

National Resistance Movement Party Electoral Commission Chairman, Dr. Tanga Odoi cancelled results in which the NRM returning officer declared Kabasharira winner having defetaed Minister Mwesigwa Rukutana.

Rukutana’s team petitioned the NRM EC headquarters with overwhelming evidence to overturn the results announced in Ntungamo last week.

After tallying votes from over 12 polling stations that had not been counted, it has emerged that Rukutana defeated his closest opponent Naome Kabasharira.

Accordingly, Rubaare sub county, which is considered Rukutana’s stronghold didn’t vote after the register disappeared.

Voting was deferred to Saturday, the same day when chaos broke out in the area resulting into multiple shooting and injuring of Rukutana’s rival’s loyalists.

As a result, Rukutana was sent to prison battling several charges; attempted murder, theft of a gun, malicious damage and assault where today he was released on bail at Ntungamo magistrate court