Bobi Wine’s Brother cries foul after Being denied NUP party ticket

  • by Mary Ociiti
  • September 29, 2020

Bobi Wine’s brother, musician Eddie Yawe who was vetted for the Kira Municipality has lost seat in the NUP Primaries to Jimmy Lukwago the former owner of Kira Young football club.

The National Unity Platform (NUP) has earlier today released the list of the party’s selected flag bearers for the position of Member of Parliament in the central region.

The lists were released by the NUP Executive Board after a rigorous vetting and screening activity.

Early this month, the NUP election management committee led by Mercy Walukamba kicked off the party’s vetting process, where they intended to choose flagbearers for different positions ahead of the 2021 general elections.

A provisional list of successful candidates in various constituencies in the Central Region has now been released, attracting mixed reactions from the candidates and their voters.

Actor and radio presenter, Patrick Mujuuka alias Patriko also lost to Ssimbwa Fred in Nakifuma County.


In the highly contested Rubaga South Constituency, Aloysius Mukasa was handed the NUP flag results from Rubaga North deferred and they will have to be reevaluated.

Bobi Wine’s elder brother, Fred Nyanzi Sentamu has been selected as the flag bearer for Kampala Central.

The NUP party spokesperson Joel Ssenyonyi will represent the party in Nakawa West while Ronald Balimwezo will contest in Nakawa East.

Results for Kawempe North, Kawempe South, and Makindye East deferred and will have to be re-evaluated as well.

According to Mercy Walukamba who is the chairperson of the election management team, results that deferred will be reevaluated and a team supervised by the party’s deputy president for Central Region will undertake this task in the next 48 hours.

Other winners
Makindye East – Nyeko Derrick.
Kampala Woman MP – Shamim Malende

Busiro North – Nsubuga Paul
Busiro South – Reevaluate
Busiro East – Lubega Medard Sseggona
Nansana Municipality – Wakayima Musoke
Entebbe Municipality – Kakembo Micheal
Kyadondo East – Muwada Nkunyingi
Kira Municipality – Lukwago Jimmy
Makindye Municipality – reevaluate
Woman – Naluyima Betty

Mityana North – Gordon Ssematikko
Mityana South – Buyondo Sulaiman
Busunjju County – Lukyamuzi David Kalwanga
Mityana Municipality – Zaake Francis Butebi
Woman- Joyce Bagala

Mawokota North – Hillary Kiyaga Innocent
Mawokota South – Joel Mirembe
Woman – Nambooze Teddy

Nakifuma County – Ssimbwa Fred
Mukono North – Kiwanuka Abdallah
Mukono Municipality – Betty Nambooze Bakireke
Woman – Haniffah Nabukera