Here’s The New NRM Team Set to Spearhead The 2021 General Election Campaigns

  • by Rodney Mponye
  • June 23, 2020

Over the weekend, the NRM party announced a new team to spearhead campaigns in the forthcoming elections.

President Museveni, who is also the NRM party chairperson, nominated the new members during the Central Executive Committee (CEC) of the party meeting at State House, Entebbe.

A press release from the NRM secretariat indicates that Ms Jacquiline Kyatuheire has been appointed as deputy national treasurer, Mr Mathias Kasamba as director for mobilisation while Mr Emmanuel Dombo is the director for information and publicity. Ms Medina Naham takes over the role of director for finance and administration.

“The national chairman made the proposals to the Central Executive Committee sitting at State House in Entebbe. CEC continues with the discussion of the NRM political roadmap tomorrow (Sunday) as the approval of the new office bearers is scheduled for Tuesday next week (tomorrow),” Mr Rogers Mulindwa, the NRM spokesperson, stated in a press release.

Who are they?

Jacquiline Kyatuheire
She is the former Kanungu Woman MP (2001 to 2011). Prior to joining politics, Ms Kyatuheire served as Rukungiri District assistant chief administrative officer.

Mathias Kasamba
The 57-year-old former legislator for Kakuuto County served in the 9th Parliament. He is currently a member of the East African Legislative Assembly in Tanzania.

Emmanuel Dombo
Mr Dombo,58, served as MP for Bunyole County East in Butaleja District for 20 years.

Medina Naham
Ms Medina Naham is the current NRM party chairperson in Koboko District. At the NRM secretariat, she replaces Mr Hassan Wasswa Galiwango. She is credited for spearheading a campaign that saw Opposition candidates in Koboko defeated in the last elections.