• by Jane Nantale
  • July 26, 2018


On Tuesday 27th March 2018, the scheduling conference for the petitions named 5 justices to handle the Age Limit Case. Below are profiles of the justices as profiled by  Strategic Response International, a group of pro democracy and human rights lawyers.

  1. Hon. Justice Alfonse Owiny-Dollo

Appointed to the Court of Appeal in 2015, he served as a High Court judge from 2008 and was part of President Museveni’s defense (research) team in the 2006 election petition by Dr. Kizza Besigye. He had also served in various political positions both as a Member of Parliament and as a Minister of state. He has handled a number of cases ranging from both criminal and civil. He heard the 2010 Kyadondo terror case where he convicted seven terror suspects.

  1. Hon. Justice Remmy Kasule

He currently serves as the Chairperson, Law Council and became judge of the High Court in 2004 serving at the criminal division and became Justice of the Court of Appeal in 2011. During his time, he held a number of cases of political nature. He is known for his minority ruling that rejected the ejection of NRM ‘rebel’ MPs from parliament having been expelled by the party. He also extended the interim order that halted the treason trial of Nakawa division MP, Hon. Michael Kabaziguruka at the General Court Martial.

  1. Hon. Justice Cheborion Barishaki

He has been a Justice of the Court of Appeal since 2015. Prior to that, he served in the office of the Attorney General and in the Ministry of Justice and constitutional affairs as the director, civil litigation. In 2003, the then Minister of Justice and Constitutional Affairs interdicted him on allegations of misrepresentation of the state in a case against it.

  1.  Lady Justice Elizabeth Musoke

She has been a justice of the Court of Appeal since 2015. She became a High Court Judge in 2013 until 2015. She had also served as a Principle state attorney before joining the Inspectorate of Government as the director, Legal Affairs in 1999. On 28th March 2018, one of the parties in the petition submitted a notice of recusal to her on grounds of conflict of interest on allegations of having an affair with the current Deputy Attorney General Mwesigwa Rukutana and Minister Hillary Onek.

  1. Hon. Justice Kenneth Kakuru. He was one of the direct appointments into the judiciary from private practice. He also issued a minority view that all interim orders made by a single judge of the Constitutional Court which are in force were null and void and of no effect in the matter of Murisho Shafi & 4 others against Kalisa & Another (Misc. Application No. 0437 of 2016)13 petitioning the Constitutional Court for a temporary injunction restraining the IGG and Attorney General and prosecution from the Anti-Corruption Court until the petition is determined at the Constitutional Court.    The Head of the Justices, Deputy Chief Justice Owiny Dollo stated that the court would give its judgment on notice and on that day, the court would return to Mbale. We await the ruling.