Uganda rally fraternity set for Friday Awards gala

  • by Ignatius Liposhe
  • January 3, 2017
Rally car in mid air action

PHOTO BY JB SSENKUBUGE. Winners of last year in motorsport and motocross will all be awarded as the Federation of Motorsport Uganda hold its second edition of their accolades gala.

The organizers have Thursday morning got a boost from local fueling giants CITY TYRES through their PIRELLI tyres brand offering 82 trophies towards the annual gala due Friday at Imperial Royal Hotel.

“We can now announce that everything is set for the annual awards tomorrow thanks to City Tyres,” Dusman Okee the FMU president expressed his delight.

“We commend them for always being there when we need help,” Okee added. In 2015 a day before the inaugural gala, FMU also received a sponsorship package of sh20m from City Tyres.

At the wards night, at least 10 crews are expected to walk away with prizes. Jas Mangat and Hassan Alwi were the most in form drivers. However, others such as Ronald Ssebuguzi, Arthur Blick Jr, Duncan Kikankane, Desh Kananura, Ambrose Byona, Christakis Fitidis and Ranjit Kuku are glad to see the back of 2016.

But Jas Mangat and Joseph Kamya in Mitsubishi Evo X ‘Kisodde’ pipped youthful Hassan Alwi Jnr and Enock Olinga in Subaru N14 to the title by only six points. It was Mangat’s third NRC title after previously winning back-to-back in 2012-13. Mangat previous two titles were won with Gihan de Silva.

The crew of Ronald Ssebuguzi and Leone Ssenyange won the National Sprint title.

Motorsport is one of the oldest sports disciplines in Uganda, having started in the early 20th century.

Author: Tabu Peter or follow on Twitter @PetaTabu